• Citizen of the Year

  • The award recognizes a New Richmond area resident who has made a positive and noteworthy contribution to the community this year. The recipient of this prestigious award will be announced at the Chamber's largest event of the year---its Annual Meeting and Awards Gala--on Wednesday, January 29, 2020 at R & D Catering. All of those nominated will be celebrated at the Gala - we hope you can join us! [Click Here to VOTE for the 2019 Citizen of the Year.]
























    Officer Aaron Anderson: Officer Anderson is New Richmond's School Resource Officer, responsible for seven buildings throughout the district, including St. Mary School. He makes time to interact with students in every building, as well as out in the community. While keeping our families safe is obviously part of his job - it's they way he goes about it that makes him stand out. Officer Anderson also led an initiative to get students to engage with each other rather than using cell phones and technology to interact by playing Ladder Golf, Corn Hole & 4-Square during lunch at the High School. Not only is he a familiar face in school halls, you will also find him at sporting events and in the community and always with a ready smile and a greeting for the students!

    Fr. John Anderson: Fr. John was born and raised in the New Richmond Area and after leaving for Seminary and  assignments with the Catholic Church, he has come back to serve in New Richmond as the pastor for Immaculate Conception and St. Patrick's Churches as well as St. Mary School. His nomination did not come on behalf of what he does at his "job", but what he does for the whole community. Since coming back to the area, Fr. John has served on several boards outside of his church community including the New Richmond Area Community Foundation. You would be hard pressed to find a stronger supporter of NR High School Athletics, community art initiatives and events all around town. 

    Kelli Espiritu: Kelli Espiritu is the co-founder and president of Halos of the St. Croix Valley. Halos provides support to families suffering from the loss of a child (up to age 20). Kelli leads a team of volunteers to help people during some of their hardest days. Our community has had some tremendous losses and it is Kelli, quietly working in the background, helping with everything from the immediate need for financial support to connecting resources for the ongoing emotional support for so many families. 

    Steve Skoglund: Steve Skoglund, born and raised in New Richmond, is a local business owner and friend to many. Steve is an active Rotarian and, while raising his family here, has been a part of countless important projects to improve our community. Steve's nomination came on behalf of his tremendous effort to see the vision of the new Tiger Stadium come to fruition. Steve doesn't currently have kids in athletics, he just feels compelled to be a part of something that he sees as important for our youth and the greater community. Go Tigers!

    To vote on using the above link, you must have an email address. You can vote in person at the Chamber Office (245 S. Knowles Ave) M-F 9am-4pm. Call 715-246-2900 with any questions.

    Citizen of the Year History:

    1992          Bob Heebink

    1993          Curt Anderson

    1994          Irv & Mary Sather

    1995          Mayor Billy Smith

    1996          Don & Alice Michels

    1997          Bob Krueger

    1998          Jerry Frey

    1999          John Soderberg

    2000          Barbara Polfus

    2001          Helen Demulling

    2002          Jim Counter

    2003          Bob Peterson

    2004          Bob Peirson

    2005          Bill Buell

    2006          Bill Derrick

    2007          Tim O’brien

    2008          Dennis Horner

    2009          Mayor David Schnitlzer

    2010          Paul Mayer

    2011          Jim Zajkowski

    2012          Vernon Conrad

    2013          Stuart Nelson

    2014          Dr. Neal Melby

    2015          Patty Berger

    2016          Rachel Sauvola

    2017          Chuck Mehls

    2018          Chuck Olson


  • Upcoming Events